The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

So it’s taken me three days of concerted effort to work my way through the shots I took at Heritagecon 8 on Sunday.  It’s still been worth it.

I’ll be honest, I never mastered the art of dry brushing and while I know scale models of armor are very popular  and I’ve always been impressed by them but for some reason, I was never driven to build any for myself even though their levels of detail can be super intimidating.

How detailed can you go? Check out the chains on the tires.

 

A very nicely done AH-64 in Israeli colors.

A nice Fairey Swordfish. The aircraft that took on the Bismark and knocked four flavors of shit out of the Italian fleet at Taranto.

Another 1/144 scale wonder.

A nicely done 1/32 F-15.

And the 1/32 Douglas Skyray that was right beside it.

 

Giving the HDR treatment to a 1/32 A6. This kit had excellent detail over it’s whole surface right down to the, “Remove Before Flight,” Ribbons.

A Heinkel 219 in North African camouflage. Excellent attention to detail on this model.

Some real close up detail of an He 111

As you can see we’re working our way down the aircraft table moving towards the dioramas but I’ve got to say I really like this A10 in your basic Airforce Grey (with the aircraft manual printed on the fuselage).

Another from the 1/144 club, a Bristol Buccaneer in South African Markings.

The idea of putting a Jetson’s model inside of an old TV set was inspired. Too bad my overall shot didn’t turn out as well as I’d have liked.

For me the joy of checking out models is the surprises that can lurk inside. I love that the maker took the time to put the pilot in there and lit it too!

Which brings us to the Diorama section and this year’s entries were pretty astounding as well as thought provoking.

There was a definite Flying Tigers theme going on this year.

This diorama was titled, Meeting in India. I thought the facial expressions very well done.

This one was called, “The Interrogation,” and it’s a triumph of subtlety. Set during the German’s first drive across Belgium and France, the look on the poor tank commander’s face says it all. Because I was shooting very short DOF the other tank in the diorama and the soldiers standing around it fade into the background.

So there you have the second installment.  Still more to come.

Leave a comment

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

The Book Review Directory

For Readers and Writers

ED A. MURRAY

Memoir Ghostwriter | Author

thewander-lust.com

Fuel your wanderlust

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 32 year old anxiety and complex PTSD sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera

Bestselling science fiction author of The Alorian Wars

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Caroline Peckham

Author of all things romance

AdventureWithAutism

Raising Awareness for Adventures with Autism

Business and Book

A Blog About the Book Industry and Relevant Business Issues