The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

0P8A2696

Today I finally got to fly in the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum’s PBY 5A Canso. I’ve been waiting for her to become available for flights for a few years now. I’ve always loved the PBY 5A and have dreamed about flying in one for years.

0P8A2684

Sitting by the port side blister. I’m holding the rail above me to keep from bouncing up off of my seat.

Weather delayed my flight a bit as a few rain cells moved through the area. It was pretty windy on the ground which promised some rougher air up above but I’d learned from my flight on the Lancaster and had popped a couple of Gravol prior to the flight. Though with the engines on the wing above the airframe, there’s no exhaust leaking back into the fuselage.

0P8A2687

Floats down. For a second I was hopeful we’d do a water landing…

First off the take off is something else. When they set those Twin Wasp Radials to full power, the sound of them goes right through you and the plane fairly leaps into the air. I was surprised to see the pilot and copilot’s controls are shock mounted so they bounce around a lot. I thought I had video but the CF card on my 7D mk2 pooched when I tried to upload the data. I thought I had the cards set for dual recoding but apparently I only had the CF card set to record video. I still have my head cam footage and as soon as I edit it, I’ll post it up.

0P8A2692

Facing forward, you really are well exposed in the Blisters.

The flight was not quite as rough as the ride in the Lanc but it was pretty bouncy. The aircraft feels pretty nimble as it seems to pivot around the center support under the wing. The pilot remarked later when we were on the ground that he really had to be on top of the rudder.0P8A2694

The flight might only have been 20 minutes but it was time well spent in a fantastic aircraft. My pilot had just flown back from Bejing. Yesterday he was piloting a 777 with fly by wire and CRT screens telling you everything you need to know. Today he stepped back in time to 1944, what a rush that must be for him as well.

I’m moving back the release of Devil’s Ante to September to fine tune some of the bits of the book before release. Thanks for your patience…

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

