The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

img_3498-xl

No matter what, life finds a way even in the harshest of environments.

Of the many pictures I took this Summer, the one above keeps drawing me back. I feel it perfectly represents resilience in the face of adversity. Life will always find a way.

I’m currently in the early stages of planning a trip around Vancouver Island in my original home province of BC. There will probably be some shorter trips south of the border as well but considering how busy the day job is, I’m not sure I can set aside the time to do them.

For the first time, I’ll be trucking my bike out to the coast and then flying out there. I simply don’t have the time to ride across the country (US or otherwise) and once you factor in the cost of food, gas and hotels, it sort of makes sense. I’m also looking to switch over to a soft back system for the bike over my current pannier set up. We’ll be doing lots of logging roads and those are notorious for poor surface quality. This will also be a trip with other riders, so that too will be different over my usual solo excursions.

I’m looking forward to this as I know the scenery and the scents of the BC Forests won’t disappoint. Plus I’ll be hooking up with some old friends. Right now I’m just waiting for some of the dates to firm up before I book everything.

So watch this space on more of that.

img_1919-xl

Watching the sunrise from The Devil’s Playground on Pike’s Peak 2016

As always you can find out more about me and my books at steveabbottauthor.com

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

