The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

For those of you in self publishing that might be interested, I thought I’d release my sales numbers for the year. I ran a fair number of promotional campaigns through Amazon and I’ll be honest, while the ROI was great for me, that was to be expected in a year where I didn’t release any new content. 2017 will be a different story and I’ll get into that in a minute.

There were a few reasons this year was sparse for me. For one, I’m not a fast writer as far as stories go. I need to cross my t’s and dot my i’s. All the little details take time to figure out and how to connect them.

There was also some personal stuff that encroached on things too. Much of which I’ve already covered in this blog so I won’t bore you with it again.

However, 2016 was not a time spent resting. I started a side project of a screenplay based on true events that will be starting it’s life journey in the coming months. I’m also about a third of the way through a scifi military story that I hope those of you who read my stuff will enjoy as well.

Writing for me is not a matter of fast money (as my numbers will attest), it’s a long walk that for me at the end of the day is about getting my book in the hands of one more reader. Kindle uUnlimited has actually helped me a great deal in that respect and I’ll also go over that in a bit greater detail as the numbers are revealed.

Which brings us to what to expect in 2017. Some of this I’ve just mentioned but writing it down, helps me confirm goals.

 

  1. 42186773~ed09b964d4ab807f708065eb3a17cd0b08d1815d-original .    Release Devil’s Gambit on Audiobook form.  I’ve been trying to do this for the last little bit but only secured the means to do so in November. I’ll be releasing greater and greater detail as we get closer to the launch date for this.
  2. devilsanti1 . Finish edit and release Devil’s Ante. We’re close on this one. I’m just finishing up the last chapters now. Unfortunately my editor isn’t going to be available till April, so my release has to be pushed back to July. I promise to write the third instalment Devil’s Due faster.
  3. augmented-front-jpg-rgb Finish Augmented, a story of a recently disabled Soldier who because of his particular injury ends up the pilot of an experimental Mech Armor Unit and is then dropped back into the zone of combat he was wounded in. The idea from the story intrigued me from the second it came to mind. I’ve tried to keep the tech as real world as possible in this one.

There might also be another one of my Motorcycle Riding books in there as well but that one really is going to be time permitting.

And now…

The Numbers:

These are broken down by book.

Devil’s Gambit:

Kindle Sales: 560    KU Units Read (Calculated by Page count)  314    Total Unit Sales 874

Devil’s Gambit continues to be my strongest seller.

Two Wheeled Maniac:

Kindle Sales: 78    KU Units Read (Calculated by Page count)  26    Total Unit Sales 104

TWM is my little book that could. I don’t promote it but every month there’s a few sales and other than some pissed off Harley guys who have read it, the feedback is pretty positive.

Reliance:

Kindle Sales: 21    KU Units Read (Calculated by Page count)  10    Total Unit Sales 31

I won’t lie, this one hurts a bit. I invested a lot of money into this one and I just have to accept the fact it’s not about to pay off probably ever. Which kind of sucks because it’s one of my favorite stories and I really love the characters. It could be because it’s written as a modern western thriller which might be too much genre bending for everybody. In the end, I wrote the story I wanted and there’s not much else to add to that.

There you have it. My sales year in a nutshell. Here’s hoping 2017 allows me to continue to expand my works. You can check out my books on my Author Website.

I wish you all the best in the coming year

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

