The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I realize I’ve been lax with my blog as of late and I apologise. Time has been a scarce commodity plus there have been some life changes as previously mentioned in this blog and just to be clear, I wrote the bulk of this before finding out my current diagnosis.

  • * * * * *

img_3494-l

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. The day job’s been a bit crazy and last month I rode down to Dayton, Ohio to check out the new hanger section at the National Museum of the United States Air Force at Wright Patterson AFB.That little jaunt proved to be more taxing than first expected because by Monday evening it was obvious I’d picked up a cold and by Wednesday it was also obvious I’d picked up a nasty infection in the wrist muscle of my left arm. A trip to the doc and some broad spectrum antibiotic seems to be clearing that up though. The will is strong, while the flesh is weak.

I’ll post the Dayton stuff up in a follow up blog. We did do some interesting roads on the first part of the way down but time constraints required us to slab it for a big chunk of the trip.

But getting to the meat of the matter, “Staying positive.” It can be a real trial especially with our 24/7 bleeding and leading news cycle. Social media doesn’t offer any escape as it seems to distill a lot of the doom, gloom and crazy into a truly unctuous material.

I made a conscious decision this year to try and keep my posts positive on all platforms unless I was truthfully talking about personal stuff going on with me. I also don’t discuss my day job in any great detail either. Though to be honest other than workload, things are pretty good there. Finding time to write s a bit of a struggle but then that’s always been the case and as it is with all things artistic, the closer to the end of a project you get, the greater the push-back from the universe. I don’t know why this is but as it has been said, it all works out in the end.

In the end I think it’s not so much about staying positive as much as it is about staying grateful. A friend of mine had posted this week that people should like you for you and not for the things you have. I totally agree for the most part but I also realize we’re very defined by the things we have. The first thing you get asked by another photographer is, “Canon or Nikon,” and yes, I know this discounts a number of other brands but if you’re serious about shooting on a DSLR, those are the two main platforms. Because I shoot on Canon platforms, I’m instantly defined somewhat by it. Same goes for my bike, an 04 DL-650 V-Strom.

img_3494-l

She’s not the best bike in the world but she’s taken me all over and we’ve been to some pretty cool places together and yes, the thing that she is defines me and a whole bunch of other guys as to what kind of riding we’re into. The Strom is not a bike that’s all about looking cool.

I also think it’s critical as a writer and amateur photographer to try to maintain a sense of wonder about the world. After all, if you can’t see things in a different right, how can you convince your readers or observers of your work to do the same?

I’ll admit, it’s been a tough go as of late to keep your smile from turning into a grimace. The language coming across the various media has been pretty negative and very xenophobic. A news cycle that focuses on bleeding and leading while suppressing other important stories is depressing. It all gets a bit weary.

The funny thing is my thrillers exist in a world where my main characters live their stories in parts of the world about as disengaged from the conflict in the Middle East as you can get. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure why this is but I also figure plenty of other authors are covering that territory, there’s no need for me to pile on. Plus I’m exploring different motivations in my characters. Especially that  of Sean Addison as he tries to forge a life for himself after years spent as an operator in the SAS. He’s trying very hard to walk a path without having to resort to violence of action. The universe of course, has other plans.What can I say? I like most creators are relentlessly cruel to our creations. After all, a character sitting on a mountaintop contemplating the nothingness of being would be a damn dry read. Still, through out it all, Sean continues on with the thought of, “Better times than these,” in his head. Something I believe is at the very core of what it is to be human.

Please check out my books on www.steveabbottauthor.com

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

