The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

twist60

I was interested in the Twist 60 the minute I read about it in the Lensbaby Newsletter. I’ve had a Composer Pro mount for a few years now and have a pretty full collection of their lens inserts to go with it. About my only complaint is I wish the focus ring had a stiffer action.

I usually purchase my lenses through Henry’s here in the GTA but apparently the supplier for the Lensbaby line of products is in flux so I had to purchase my Twist 60 through B&H in New York City. Which meant a bit more money because of the exchange rate  but even with that, it was still a reasonable price.

One think I like about Lensbaby products is their chromatic signature. Their glass seems to push color a little more in the image. It may be that when you’ve got many multiple elements in a more advanced range of lenses, some color is lost as the light works it’s way through the lens.

I also understand that because of Lensbaby line’s use of only manual focus, if you lack patience, this or any of their lenses probably aren’t for you. These are definitely not for shooting anything with a lot of action going on.

It was a good week before I had a chance to bring the lens out and try it out. The occasion was a small local car show. I like cars, my autistic son Colin loves cars, especially the older ones, so the venue was a lock for me (and it was free).

img_3946-x2

This was my very first shot. Not my best work but I do like how it isolates the subject from the background. It does take a bit of fiddling to get your exposure levels right.

img_3947-x2

In this next shot you can start to see why the Twist 60 gets its name from what’s happening in the background. I pretty much muffed the white balance here though.

img_3951-x2

I do like the way the lens frames your subject though. Because of its particular effect, this is not a lens you can effectively use for tilt shift imagery. The lens is designed to be use in only the central position.

img_3953-x2

It really does do a nice job in the stills department. 

img_3958-x2

img_3959-x2

img_3968-xl

I took one of Colin, just to see what sort of portrait potential the lens holds. Not a bad shot considering he never stops moving…

img_3974-x2

Tried some close up stuff with fairly decent results.

img_3980-xl

Would I recommend this lens? Yes I would but with the caveat that it’s not for the impatient shooter. Having experience with older film cameras would probably be an asset for any of the Lensbaby line. But I like the bokeh on this lens and I appreciated the color I got out of the images. If you like to compose within the camera and not in post then you’ll enjoy using the Twist 60.

If you’d like to check out any of my books (if you haven’t done so already) please go to www.steveabbottauthor.com and click on the appropriate link (that’d be the one marked, “Buy”).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

