The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

10153185_10151953491897385_414600627_n

I’ve spent the last couple of days really going over my proposed tracks. Now that I’ve added days the trip, I can back off my hours in the saddle a little. I factored in some time to actually stop and look at things and not make it all about eating distance.

A friend of mine used to have a saying, “It’s a small planet but I wouldn’t want to have to vacuum it.”

It’s very easy to look at a map and draw a line from point A to point B, then organize a number waypoints between those two places on the map to make things interesting. It’s something else entirely to actually ride that line. Maps are clean, temperature and the weather remain neutral. And that time-stamp your routing program generates is a best case scenario. And it’s not that I dwell on all the negative things can happen on a trip. It’s just I’ve done this enough times to know reality has a way of stepping in and slapping you upside the head if you’re not paying attention. So every day for me, is based on 12 a half hours. Now that’s not saddle time (not that I haven’t done days like that) it’s just a good round number to work with for what time you’re probably going to arrive at your daily destination. You might be earlier, or you might be a lot later.

If you’ve put in dirt tracks for any part of your day, what the weather has been doing for the last few weeks or even the last 24 hours is probably going play a major part in how well your day does or doesn’t go.

Rain can make for a pretty miserable day in the saddle and it doubly miserable one if you’re off-road and your hardpacked track is now soup city. The same can be said for the sun. It can get pretty intense no matter how well you’re covered up. I realize today on my shakedown ride that I’ll probably need to pick up a neck kerchief or run the risk of getting a pretty serious sunburn on the back of my neck. There will be the added bonus that I’ll be able to soak it in water and further aid my cooling.

I like the saying, “Not all who wander are lost.” I think it perfectly sums up that spirit in some of us to see what’s over that next hill,  around that bend or down that track. I’m constantly amazed at the sheer beauty of just my continent. I often wonder how some people can just drive right by and not see it.

One of the guys I work with in my day job is very excited for new game coming out called, “No man’s sky.” It’s a game which re-creates a galaxy which players can explore in their own personal spacecraft. It sounds like a pretty cool game. However, I enjoy exploring this planet on my motorcycle which as you can guess pretty much becomes your own personal spacecraft for the length of any journey you should take with it.

I plan to create a book about this trip. Some of the book will of course focus on the places that I plan to go to as well as a people that you meet along the way and of course how that affects you. Now I’m not saying every trip you take changes you but I will say some seem to get under your skin more than others and you do find yourself looking at things in a different light.

For the first time in a few years I find myself at a point of transition both within and outside of myself. Kelly, a good friend I’ll be meeting out with half way through this trip is in a similar place and I’m curious to find out what he thinks. Another friend David, quality meeting up with in Salt Lake City, well, transition is mostly what he deals with on a day-to-day basis. So I’m sure he’ll have something to add to the mix as well. Maybe that’s the theme I’m looking at.

Transition.

Maybe the only constant is change? Either way, and is going to be a hell of a trip in the book will be what the book will be, because books like that almost always are.

The clock is running: T Minus 00:11:13:52:00

You can check out my thrillers Devil’s Gambit and Reliance in trade paperback and for Kindle on Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Not all who wander are lost…

  1. thatguyduncan says:

    You got some good-lookin’ friends….

    Like

    1. sabot03196 says:

      It’s hard to turn that sort of thing off.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

