The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Of course I’m talking about race fuel. A smell I can’t even describe accurately but one that gets my blood pumping and makes the hairs on my arms and neck stand up.

img_9311-x2

Colin has been bugging me about going to a race since before Christmas. I had bought tickets for the Vintage races on June 17th at the Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (formerly known as Mosport) but it clashed with my trip dates, so I bought us tickets to the Sunday racing of the Victoria Day Weekend series. It had a NASCAR race as one of the heats which made Collin very happy as he is a big NASCAR fan and I still don’t know where he gets that.

img_9317-x2

Of course we just missed the first heat with the Minis, which sort of bummed me out as most of the ones running are the same year as mine. Still, they were cool to look at.

The guys in the Honda tent, didn’t look like they were having a particularly good morning.

img_9323-x2

But that’s the beauty of racing, you never know what’s going to happen and what you’re going to have to do to pull it out of the fire.img_9329-x2

The first qualifying race was the Grand Prix car’s. Some pretty impressive stuff on four wheels and none of it cheap.

img_9354-x2

img_9356-x2

img_9361-x2

img_9366-x2

img_9370-x2

img_9372-x2

img_9408-x2

As always my Sigma 150 to 500 mm lens did yeoman’s service, giving me some great captures for the day. One of the things I like about this lens is that for the most part I can just shoot with a UV filter without the need for a polarizing filter. I think it has something to do with the construction of the lands and the fact that the light has to travel down a very very long barrel through multiple optics we seems to really knock out any tendency to flare. I’m not saying you couldn’t pick up brilliantly high whites if you wanted a blow everything out completely but the fact that I was shooting in direct sunlight and didn’t need an ND filter or a polarizer to compensate for the Sun’s direct rays was a real plus. I know these big telephoto’s are very expensive but I do think the end results speak for themselves.

img_9414-x2

img_9426-x2

img_9430-x2

img_9437-x2

img_9518-x2

img_9555-x2

img_9566-x2

img_9586-x2

And after the Grand Prix cars, we had the Porsche GT3 series, which remains one of my favourites. The cars not only look great but they stick to the track like glue.

img_9642-x2

img_9670-x2

img_9719-x2

img_9736-x2

img_9738-x2

img_9825-x2

img_9937-x2

img_9983-x2

img_9990-x2

I’ll try to post up the rest of the photos before the end of the week but all in all it was a fun day of racing one my son and still talking about which is pretty cool considering he normally just seems to go from one thing to the next. It’s nice that our love of racing does seem to transcend at least at some level his autism.

As always and I’d appreciate it if you would, my thrillers Devil’s Gambit and Reliance are available on Amazon in trade paperback and for Kindle. Reliance is only $.99 and it would be great if you could show some love. I’m almost finished the rough draft for the sequel to Devil’s Gambit, Devil’s Ante. I should have it in the can just before I leave my Colorado trip. Now my plan was to try and publish a book about my Colorado trip this year but because of other time constraints in regards to my getting back into the film game, that may not happen next year. And don’t worry about Augmented, it still firmly on the docket but while I was hoping for an end of the year release, it’s now looking more like next spring for it’d release but don’t worry, it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

