The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

IMG_4608

I like to plan but only to a point. There should still be some sense of discovery at every trip. My feeling is you don’t want too many fixed points in your days just in case you would like to stop and check something out. So generally, I don’t tend to pre-book too many hotel rooms. Of course this trip is different. The Pike’s Peak time trials practice days are on fixed dates, June 23 and June 24 and we need to be on the mountain by 4 AM. Which means I need to be in Colorado Springs by June 22. I’m also meeting my buddy Kelly on the 18th in Salt Lake City. So I figure to get there by the 17th which means of course if I want to do it in any sort of non-crazy time, I’m out of here on the 13th.

Five days, five whole days to get to Utah. The last time I did something similar to this trip, I crossed the Alberta border at Glacier National Park in three days and that third day was a wowser. The next time I even suspect I’m going to hit weather like that I’m parking the bike.

But back to logistics. The real issue here is Pike’s Peak, it’s a big deal and obviously not just to me. Speed freaks of all types and sizes will be descending upon Colorado Springs, Manitou Springs and of course the rest of the area surrounding Pike’s Peak. Getting a reasonable hotel at a decent price is of course critical. And that was my job for this morning. So arriving on 22 June, my buddy Kelly and I will be staying at the Garden of the Gods-La Quinta in Colorado Springs and it didn’t cost me an arm and a leg, well not a leg anyway. I have in actual fact put my money where my mouth is. I’m pretty stoked. My countdown timer (yes, I have a countdown timer) tells me I am one month, six days, 15 hours and 19 minutes from departure. I know from experience those numbers are going to count down fast.

My car is in the shop this morning having a steering pump installed, which gave me a pretty good time to look at my bike with a critical eye. Is much as I like the mods I’ve made to the stock hand guards on my 04 Strom, the left-hand side keeps popping off and it’s kind of irritating. With that in mind and after seeing a set of bark busters installed on a similar year of bike last Saturday, I’ve ordered a set for myself with an extra couple of their weather resistant covers and some new bar end weights as well. And I’m trying to pull the trigger on a new top box. Though that ones going to depend on the supplier being able to ship me one in time.

The rest is just housekeeping. I’ve got to change the oil in the bike, check my coolant and clean my chain. You know the general stuff you gotta do keep the ride running.

Now the plan is to get the rough draft of Devil’s Ante finished prior to my leaving so I can review it on my trip and have notes compiled for my return (Yeah, I know. We’ll see how that pans out). My other two thrillers Devil’s Gambit and Reliance can be purchased on Amazon in print and for Kindle. I’ll also let you in on a little secret. Reliance covers the majority of Max’s backstory a CIA assassin who features prominently in Devil’s Ante, and it’s priced to move at $0.99 USD.

 

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

