The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

IMG_4588

I finally installed the raising links I ordered six months ago on the bike. These new dog bones raise my back end an inch. The install took all of 15 minutes and as these things go was fairly easy. Of course I was worried that by changing the geometry of the bike by raising the back end I would increase the risk of nasty things happening at the front-end.

Right now I’m running a set of Shinko 705s front and rear. I’m running them at about 25 psi which yes, seems a little low but I find at higher pressures I get a little oscillation on the front end. Plus the slightly lower pressure allows me to go off-road when the feeling strikes me and not have to fiddle with my tires too much.

After the install yesterday afternoon, I really didn’t get a chance to test ride the bike other than a quick job on the streets around my townhouse. Things seemed okay there but of course where it all really comes alive is on the highway. So this morning I gassed up the bike and took her out onto the QEW. 120 km an hour and everything seemed rock solid. In fact if there was any change in handling, it so subtle I can’t tell. Of course it’s not as easy to slide the bike into his parking position in my garage as it was because the rear tire does have some contact with the ground now when it’s up on the centre stand. For that small price to play for that tiny bit of extra ground clearance.

I also received my new AFX dual sport helmet this week in the mail from Revzilla. It is of course in Hi-Viz yellow as have my last three helmets been.

afxfx41_ds_hi_vis_helmet_detail

It’s an FX-41 DS helmet. They do come in a variety of colours and surface design. It was a pleasant surprise to discover it has an internal drop-down shade shield. The fit and function is really good on my head and it’s probably one of the best vented helmets I’ve ever owned. It’s also light which is a definite plus. I can’t really speak to how noisy or quiet the helmet is as I always ride with plugs.

I’ve also been trying out my new Fieldshear all weather pants and so far the been very warm and comfortable to wear. And they fit me at my waist far better than any of my Joe Rocket Gear ever has.

Were almost at May, June is not far away, see what I mean about time? The Colorado trip is coming up fast and I still have nailed down some my tracks.

2 thoughts on “Mods and Bits…

  1. somebesottedfellow says:

    Looking forward to a review of the helmet — my Shoei Qwest has been dropped many times over the last five years, so it’s time for something new. I commute into the sun in both directions, so it’s a DS helmet for me.

    Like

    1. sabot03196 says:

      So far it’s pretty comfortable. Had a brief issue this morning as I tried to get my glasses on but it just turned out I had to feed the arms in a different way. The helmet is light and has a decent field of view. Because of the bottom of the helmet being styled to fit with a Leat brace it has excellent movement as you turn your head. Normally when I gear up for cooler riding, my neck sock causes problems with this.

      I picked this one up because I found I wasn’t getting enough air into my Bell Sport Helmet and I was getting a bit noddy after an hour or so. The DS helmets keep that airflow coming and then some.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

