The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Getting ready for the long ride back to Mississauga, August 2011 - By my Sister in Law

It’s been a busy last few weeks between just general life stuff and getting Reliance ready to publish. So busy I haven’t had a chance to go for a ride for a few weeks. something I’m very aware of as my bike sits in front of my car as I pull into my garage every night after work.

The day job is fairly physical. I’m constantly climbing on, over or under things and I spend a lot of time walking on concrete floors. My knees of course love this sort of treatment and aren’t about to bitch about it at the end of the day. Add to that the litany of niggling pains from different sectors of my body like my lower back and shoulders and there are times when I literally can’t sit still or sit down at all.

Which brings me to todays ride. Nothing fancy. A quick jaunt up the 401 to A Vicious Cycle in New Dundee and then after some general BSing in the parking lot (not too much as it was bloody freezing) we rode out to the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum in Hamilton. The only mitigating factors in todays ride were, it was really windy and really cold. For the most part, the cold was bearable as was the wind but after about an hour, my already sore knees were really starting to complain and my shoulders (especially the one I had surgery on) had decided to join the chorus.

This isn’t a shock but it does drive home the fact that you do need to maintain a certain level of fitness to ride. I’m glad today was just road riding, I don’t think I’m up to off road today. In fact I think I’m going to have to build in some exercises to beef up my body for the Colorado trip. I’m not talking about bulking up, just about getting my lean muscles ready for what’s coming. What that’s going to look like, I’m going to have to do some research on.

As I’d also mentioned, I’ve been getting Reliance ready for publication. This time round I’m going through Createspace first because they’ll also help me generate a Kindle version alongside the print version. I’m sure if I did this every other month, I’d be more in tune with the process but frankly every time I do this, I have to teach myself over and over again. One thing you need to consider is your page size. A standard printed page is 8.5″ x 11″ but a Createspace Trade Paperback is 6″ x 9″ and you need to set up your manuscript accordingly or you spend a lot of time back and forth between the layout page and your Word file. I also have a hard time with their Cover Editor. It would be nice if they could give you a proper spine width dimension based on your page count along with a proper overall edge to edge dimension, so you could make a Complete Cover in whatever art program you possess. I’m not an artist. It took a few days before I figured out the problem with my new book’s back cover. Which turned out to be some descriptive text bleeding over on the top edge.

This in itself is not a huge problem but every time you make a change you have to resubmit your files and it usually takes about six hours for each turn around. My advice is start the process days before you plan to release, just to make sure you hit your dates.

I’ve also been attending a few local writer meetups and spreading the gospel of independent publishing. I know many are still enamored of the trad pub route and I’m guessing that’s a good way for some to go, if you want to wait months to launch your book (if you get chosen of course) and give up your rights as well as settle for a pittance of a royalty. I guess you can see which way I lean in this argument. It’s also interesting to talk about my life in film with the groups as you don’t realize it but in many ways it really influences how you approach the actual work of writing. I’m not going to making the meetups a regular thing but showing up every now and then, probably isn’t a bad thing.

Reliance will be available in print and on Kindle as of November 14th and as always, you can order my thriller Devil’s Gambit on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

