The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

reliance

I know I’ve tapered off on my posts as of late but I’ve been really busy. I’m almost finished the new edit on Reliance. I should be sending out copies for proofing to my Beta readers tomorrow. So far I’m still on track to publish the first week of December. I know that a year seems like a long time between books but the fact of the matter is I’m trying to put out the best work possible and that takes time. The book following this one, Devil’s Ante is about halfway to being complete and it’s still going to need a few passes before it’s ready for publication. Independent publishing is not for people who want instant results, you really do need to take the long view.

At least now that I understand the process much better, I’ll be releasing the paperback version at the same time as the Kindle one. Paperbacks are still a low earner for me compared to my Kindle sales but they do work well as a promotional tool and who knows, down the line, these early editions might be worth something someday. I know of at least one copy of Devil’s Gambit which has made it’s way through an entire family and their friends. Which makes me hope those infected with the reading virus will look up my new work as well.

Numbers play an important role in this endeavour for me. From my daily sales numbers to the actual cost of putting out a quality book and its promotion. It really is a brick by brick, step by step thing. Much like film, it’s not always so much about your current book as it is about building the foundation for the sales of your next one and the one after that.

For the first two months I averaged one book sale a day. In month three, it rose to two and a half. Half a year in, I was averaging seven books a day and ever since, I’ve been averaging about four sales per day. One thing I do try to do is keep my Amazon ranking as constant as I can and that’s a number effected by sales. In order to do this I recently dropped the price on Devil’s Gambit to $1.99 US. My thinking is, I’ll be releasing Reliance in a few weeks and increasing my sales base at the expense of a bit of profit is not a bad idea.

To be honest I’m just happy that over a thousand people have bought my book and hopefully enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

