The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

If there’s one big hole in my photography, it’s people. I take pictures of a lot of places and things and if there are people in my shots they’re usually riding something. It’s one of the reasons I like shooting motorsports, the drama comes built right into the frame and the shot’s story is almost always self evident.

Portraiture is a much more intimate experience and getting people to be comfortable in the shot, has not been my strength. I’m not a fan of having my own picture taken and I’m guessing that translates into directly into my photography. This of course doesn’t mean I don’t want to learn how to overcome my hindrances. Portraiture can be extremely powerful.

With that in mind I signed up for a day course through Henry’s Camera on Portraiture and Fashion Photography taught by the effervescent Lindsay Adler, somebody who does a lot with very little and who is very open about her techniques to achieve her end result.

Of course any course put on by a camera store is really in the end about selling you more gear though to their credit, Henry’s was very much about the soft sell here. The reality of this type of shooting is lighting so if you want to expand your range it’s going to require a number of studio strobes, radio transmitter to fire them, reflectors to provide fill and of course a light meter to speed up the process. After looking through a number of sites last night, I figure I could set myself up with the needed gear for about $1200. Which sounds like a lot but considering I can spend that on a lens easily, it’s reasonable.

Will I go down this rabbit hole? I’m thinking about it but really right now, it’s a bit out of the reach of my wallet. However I picked up some very practical tips for how to plan a shoot and how to properly pose my subject which will be a huge help in the near future.

It was a long day yesterday but the knowledge gain was excellent.

Now for a bit about the writing.

I talked to Andrew Lowe my new Editor this week and we discussed what I was after in the edit for Reliance. It was a great chat and I’m looking forward to seeing where we’re going to be going with our collaboration. All of the elements have been combined for the new cover and I’m looking forward to seeing how it’s going to look. I’ll be posting the cover for Reliance up hopefully next week.

As always, you can purchase Devils Gambit my thriller on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

