The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I get tired of people telling me all the things my bike (a 650 V-Strom) can’t do. How it’s too heavy, not a real off road bike, blah, blah, blah. Are there things my bike can’t do? Absolutely.

for instance, this. If I’m doing this with my bike, my ride has gone seriously wrong.

But I think much of these type of comments are more geared towards, where the commenting person’s comfort zone lies. Would I like a lighter bike, say a DRZ 400 for mucking about on some of the more gnarly trails and unmaintained roads? I sure would but I simply don’t have the room or the money to keep a two bike stable.

And as far as weight goes, the majority of popular adventure bikes are pushing the upper limits in the four hundred and five hundred plus range and that’s not going to go away anytime soon as long as the bigger brands insist that 1000cc to 1200cc is what you need. So are there tracks I wouldn’t take my Strom down? Yes there are but I wouldn’t take a BMW R1200GS down them either. If I break something on my Strom, it’s going to cost me a lot less to fix than the Beemer. Though it makes me wonder if the BMW guys get the same amount of flack about the weight and size of their machines or do they have a much better PR machine working for them?

But back to the confidence issue.

I’ve been riding since I was seventeen and today I turned fifty. A good chunk of my riding has been off road and I’ve come up through a good number of Enduro bikes. So going from street to dirt or gravel feels natural to me. I’m not the guy who can drag a peg round a corner (nor do I want to) or get my knee down to get through a corner. I prefer to go fast enough as opposed to trying to set a land speed record on public roads. On the other hand I can maintain a high rate of speed on an uneven surface be it gravel, dirt or sand and my slower dirt track skills are fine. Would I have even better results on a lighter more task dedicated type of motorcycle? I’ll bet I would but I don’t have the extreme bank to drop on a KTM 450 Dakar.

KTM 450 Dakar Rally – Pure tits.

Though, who needs a house, really?

I could get into all kinds of trouble with a bike like that but it’s a dream. What I do have is my Strom and she’s taken me pretty much wherever I’ve wanted to go and there’s still plenty left to explore. I’ll just have to do what I always do when the cries of, “You can’t do that on your bike,” start. I just twist the throttle and let the rushing sound of the wind in my ears drown them out while I focus on the track in front of me.

Thanks for reading this. As always, my thriller, Devil’s Gambit is available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle.

2 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. wonk1 says:

    Well put. I’m looking at trading in my hooligan bike (1200 Bandit) for a nice adventure touring bike. The strom is on my short list.

    Tim

    Like

    1. sabot03196 says:

      The KLR is another good choice if you want to explore off the beaten track and there’s a million aftermarket things you can get your hands on or make for them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

