The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Off Road Gas Pump Harding, VT, Winter 2012

As I’ve mentioned before, I suffer from PTSD. I’ve had the condition for about twenty plus years now. For the most part I manage my condition with sleep and keeping a close eye on my own internal barometers but lately it’s been a bit harder than usual as I’ve been struck with bouts of insomnia and with my wife and daughter working seven days a week for the last few weeks, I’ve only been able to get out on my motorcycle once. Which is hard because it really does recharge my mental batteries.

With my particular brand of PTSD (because everybody’s mental illness is custom tailored to your own brain) sleep is critical. When I’m overly tired my emotions tend to, “Surf,” as I like to put it. They rise and fall like waves on a beach and there’s no real indication of which one is going to hit the sand at any given moment. It’s frustrating because I’m a logical person who can usually step back from something but when I’m in the grips of the condition, it all gets very dark at the edges.

The funny thing is I’m still productive in this state. Sure it takes me a little longer to get out of bed in the morning but when I sit down to write, I can focus on what needs to be done and work my way through it and sometimes when I’m deep into the writing I can enter that state where my symptoms don’t control me. Of course we’ll see how I feel about stuff when I get to the rewrite stage of things.

I guess what I’m trying to say is having a mental illness sucks on so many levels but you can adjust to the reality and still be productive. The trick is to be able to recognize when you’re being self destructive and to counter those thoughts and behaviours when they crop up. Naps help, a good night’s sleep helps more and not indulging yourself because you’re a bit down is a good way to keep off the actual treadmill and lastly, do not keep it to yourself. Tell your family how you feel. They can probably tell that you’re, “Off,” and are there to help. And if it’s really bad, go to a professional. I went the psychologist route because I don’t want drugs to fix my problem or at least numb it out. One on one sessions are pretty intense but in the long run you’ll feel better.

Okay, time for me to be productive.

Take some time to check out my books.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

