The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I’m considering doing a series of short videos on writing. I’d like to share my past experiences writing for film and TV as well as my current experiences as an independent writer of fiction. I know it all sounds sort of egocentric and I guess it is to a point but it’s really about passing on some of my experiences. No journey in the arts is specific, except to the person it’s happening to and these days it seems like a big chunk of the film industry has lost its mind until you sit back and realize it’s just another cycle. Right now the cycle is comic books. In the past it’s been westerns, space opera, dystopian futures, spy films, teenage beach blanket bingo type films (the campy bad ones – not to be confused with excellent films like Big Wednesday), Vampire films shiny and otherwise and the list goes on. Sooner or later, the comic book stuff will hit a saturation point and another cycle will take off.

I’ve had limited success and have been hurt by the cycle as my producers tried to clamber on to the market juggernaut instead of trying to forge their own path (a risk you always take with the money people) and with situations like that, I’d like to transfer some of the stories I’ve been telling at parties into video.

Of course, it’ll very much be a mad man screaming profanities into the empty wilderness or at least off of my back deck, which I’m sure will please the neighbors to no end.

This week has been interesting as far as my book sales are going. Things are steadily increasing. My sales rank for Devil’s Gambit fluctuates between the 29,000 and 18,000 mark and has even made it into the top 100 in Technothrillers a few times in the last couple of weeks. Borrows on the book out of the KDP Select program are also doing well. As a starting author, Select is good for me because it allows more people to discover my books and at the same time, because my price is relatively low, I don’t take a huge hit in commission.

It’s all very positive… My Scottish genes are having a hard time with that but we’re learning to live with it.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

