The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I just heard about the Trans Mass. Trail and I’ve spent a bit of time looking at it on Google Maps and seen a few videos of it on Youtube. It looks interesting and picturesque with a pavement and dirt ratio that looks very doable for even those riders who don’t have a lot of comfort on gravel or dirt. Watkins Glen National Park is on the way there and I’m thinking that would also make for an interesting stop off as the photographs I’ve seen of the place look fantastic.

I’m thinking it would make a good chapter in another book. Because I’m looking after my son during the week, my only opportunity for extended riding this year will be three day trips, which of course means long weekends. I also thought that a lot of us are in a similar boat and that a usual trip takes place over two to seven days and that the ten day or longer trip is only open to a few for the most part due to income or commitments, be they job or family.

My main issue is that in order to get to good riding from Mississauga, it’s usually a day trip for me anyway. Though PA and NY state have been fun and educational when I’m just going down for a rideabout.

I’m always up for new things so if any of you have some three day trips in the vein of the Trans Mass. Trail, I’d be very interested in hearing about it in the comments section.

Spring is right round the corner and it’s time to get the bike road ready.

2 thoughts on “Three Day Rides looking for your help

  1. Vlad says:

    You mentioned Pennsylvania. I like what they call Pennsylvania Wilds very much. The entire area bordered by highways 79, 86, 15 and 80 is practically one big national forest with sparse population, plenty to see and experience and no straight roads to mention. There’s something for everyone there and I wouldn’t mind spending weeks to explore the entire area. I’ve been there for a few days on multiple occasions and always had great time. The best thing is that the fun starts only about two hours from Toronto. I once went there for a day and still had ton of fun.

    The other option is Adirondacks, NY. Quite similar in terms sof sites and roads, although a bit more crowded.

    Like

  2. sabot03196 says:

    I haven’t had a chance to explore the Adirondacks but I’ve been eying them up for a while. they look suitably picturesque and full of windy road. I’ve done a fair bit of off roading in the PA Wilds though. The tracks for the most part are well groomed with the occasional technical bit that’s been washed out by weather. The only bad issue I ever encountered there was a farmer had dragged a ton of deadfall across the track to keep people off the bit that went through his property, I guess. That turned into a ten mile back track. You can’t always tell what’s a through road there, no matter what the map or GPS track says but then that’s true of anywhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

