The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

The Flag flies above Battle Harbour, Nfld / Lab.

It took a while but this is the year I found my soul.  It had wandered off sometime in 2012 after a particularly bad run with my film stuff.  Lucky for me I picked it up again while I was doing the family history pilgrimage to Battle Harbour in Labrador.  It sort of makes sense.  The tag line for Battle Harbour is, “It’s as far from Disneyland as you can get.”  They’re not joking about that.

Prior to this journey, the most remote place I’d ever been was four hours into the bush just outside Golden, BC in the depths of winter.  That was a silence so profound I could her the snow sailing down through the air and hitting the ground.

Like all years this one had me meeting new friends and as always saying good bye to others (always, way too soon).  There were personal gains and losses as well and for the first time ever, I killed not one but two hard drives.  Lucky for me, I’ve taken to spreading my files around so no real losses in the data area.

The highlight of the year was definitely my Translabrador trip.  I’ve been chomping at the bit to do this trip for a while and to finally get on the Traslab proper was a real achievement.  I was looking to clear up some family mysteries and I did but as always is the case, new questions were created and I’m still working my way through those to get to the bottom of things.  But more than anything, this trip changed me in ways I wasn’t even aware of at the time.  It changed me enough to get back on the writing horse and to do so happily.  Being happy to write wasn’t something I’d ever thought I’d be again.

Now my first book is available through Kindle, iBooks and Smashwords.  If you’ve got a subscription, you can also check it out on Scribd.  It was big deal to me, so much so I’ve got a second book ready to come out in about two weeks.  This one’s about my last eight years riding around on my V-Strom.  However book three, a sequel to my first book is already in outline form and I’ll be starting it presently.  Is all of this a bit scary?  Sure but the alternative is not writing at all and I’ve decided that as long as I’m writing for myself, I ca be happy at this.

At the end of any year, isn’t that the main goal?

2015 is going to have a whole new raft of challenges but unlike other years, for the first time in a long while, I’m ready to take them on.

Good Health and Good luck in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

