The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

In the Badlands, August 2008

Well the cover for my upcoming thriller has been chosen.  I’m not going to reveal which one yet but I would like to thank everybody who voted for the cover of their choice.  It made an already hard choice easier, though not so easy it was a snap.  I’m still waiting to get back notes from the editor but I’m sure I’ll see something in the next week or so.

Any writer is often asked, “Where do you get your ideas from?”  For me it’s always been from anything I see or read that gets my imagination going.  It works well for fiction and it can certainly get the ball rolling in non fiction too.

I first got my 04 Dl-650 V-Strom in 2007.  There were 24,000Km on the clock.  Seven years later I’ve just rolled over 100,000Km.  That’s a yearly average of 14,300Km.  By some rider’s standards that’s not huge, by others it is.  I think it depends on what you want to get out of your bike and what it does for you.  I know there are different strata in the ADV community from the world travelers to the TAT riders and a whole host of others in between.  I don’t think we need to belittle any segment of the community as we’re all riding our own rides.

Still, I’ve averaged at least one good ride a year of some distance and like most of us today, I blogged about it as it was happening and then would finish it all off when I got home.  The other day I started dragging and dropping all of this material into Scrivener to see how much of it there really was.  Well, there’s over fifty thousand words of written material covering seven years of personal triumph and with some tragedy thrown in for good measure.  I’ve been able to indulge some sites of historical importance and I’ve been able to exorcise some personal demons along the way.  My bike has changed too.   From a two wheeled torture rack to a machine I wouldn’t hesitate to take anywhere.

The reason I was loading all of this into my editor was to see if there is a book in there somewhere and it turns out there is.  There are whole swathes of story I’ve left out of the blog, either because I was rushed to get it out or it simply slipped my mind at the time because I was focused on other goals.

It’s not a book of great feats of derring do on a motorcycle.  It’s a book about being able to have some fun and not break the bank on your bike and sometimes it’s about what a hard ride really looks like.

Riding a bike literally saved me from a very dark path I was going down.  I owe a lot to motorcycles.  They are a big part of my life and who I am.  I’ve met some of the greatest people on my bike and been to some pretty cool places.  If I can just get ten percent of that across to people through the writing, then it will have been worth it.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

