The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

On the Cape Breton Trail 2014

On the Cape Breton Trail 2014

I have hired Isaac Sweeney to edit my first book.  I found him through the Kboards Writer’s Cafe forum.  I’m currently in the process of converting my MS into a series of .docx files so he can add his notes and corrections as needed.  It turns out I can then directly cut and paste the returned file with notes and drop it back into Scrivener.  This then allows me to work my way through the edit with his notes intact and Scrivener removes all of the hidden .html code, Word likes to Squirrel away into your document.

I did a test run on the compiled file to see how the book would look on my Kindle and the transfer seems to be good.  I’m probably going to get a Kobo as well just to be able to check how the book will look in .epub but to be honest, with the Kobo’s recent restructuring issues company wise, I’m a little leery of committing to that platform as well.  I may just go with the Kindle Select program to start and see how that works for me.

The thing that has been drummed into me from listening to hours and hours of Podcasts on  Self Publishing is you need a proper editor to go over your work and you need to be prepared to pay for that service.  My only issue living in Canada is that right now our dollar is around $.88 to $1 US dollar, which means any service I go for is going to be about twelve percent more cost to me.  This is fine.  You need to approach each book as a bit of a widget.  There are always costs involved in bringing any widget to market.  Be it in design, prototype  or build costs.  Free is all well and good but service wise, you get what you pay for.

However, when you are working with your editor, it’s on you to make sure the document your are providing is as clean as you can make it.  I’m entering into more of a developmental edit on this book because I want to make sure all of my story and character points are solid.  Am I going to take all of the notes offered?  Probably not but I will give them solid consideration.  In the end, it is your book not the editor’s but they do have a vested interest.  If you do well, so do they.

Edit aside, I’m starting to educate myself on the marketing side of things and how to properly position my work.  I’m not about to put something out there and hope people discover it.  My whole writing life, I’ve had many people championing my writing around the film industry.  You need people in your corner rooting for you to succeed.  It gives you fuel.  I’ll be starting a mailing list in the next little while and there will be regular posts about where I’m at in the publishing process starting with this one on top of my regular posts about photography and of course motorcycles.

I hope you guys will come along for the ride (any of them).  It’s funny it feels a lot like starting a big off road adventure.  Scary at first until you get your feet under you and then you’re off and wondering what the hell you were worried about.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

