The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Last Friday I called Les at Dual Sport Plus about a set of Metzler Karoo 2 Tires.  A 110/80R – 19 front and a 150/70R – 17 Rear.  Les told me they were in stock.  Great.  Their retirement sale is going well.  That they were still in stock was good for me as they were also marked down.  Bad for me, because they were first come first serve.   I’d have picked them up that Saturday but I had a Confined Spaces Certification to renew.  Monday I told myself, Monday will be good.

Monday I got stuck working ten hour days.

“That’s okay,” I told myself, “I’m off Friday, I’ll grab the tires then.”  Thursday at three thirty, I shit you not, I get called in to work but it would only be an eight hour day.  Dual sport closes at six, so forty minutes to Stoney Creek.

It took an hour and a half to get to the store.  I had thirty minutes to spare.

The end result though was a set of new tires, some tie down straps and some hardware for the panniers.

As I knew it would, time goes fast and what you need to get done before the departure date gets more and more compressed.  I still need to pick up a SPOT3 Tracking unit and pay their ridiculous subscription fee.  I need to get a decent and small camp stove plus the needed fuel bottle which I also need to mount to the exterior of one of the panniers.  And I need to figure out how it’s all going to fit on the bike in such a way that it won’t be like riding a pregnant Water Buffalo.

I’ve been riding on as much loose gravel as I can find lately.  The Shinko 705’s I’ve currently got on are pretty much shot for depth of tread.  Which makes the Strom ride a bit loose, even up on the pegs you can feel her crabbing against the camber of the road.  I find myself constantly correcting the line with my knees.

I’ll be honest, hitting the deep stuff worries me.  I’m used to mud.  Gravel and sand have never been my favourite.  I’ll be doing this solo, I can’t afford to muff it and end up in the weeds somewhere.

But then you take a step back and breathe.  I’ll find the line with the new tires.  They go on a week before I leave.  It’ll be fun to be on knobbies again.

should lower the muff factor significantly.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

