The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

So as mentioned in my last article, I purchased some film emulation software.  Specifically DxO Filmpack 4.  I’d been looking for some emulation software for a while but it really is a thing where you need to see it in action before plunking down your money.  This software has some of my favorite film looks from Agfa, Fuji Ilford, Kodak, Polaroid and even Rollei.

Now while I don’t really miss film as part of my shooting workload, I do miss some of the grain and texture, celluloid imparts to an image.  Plus I’d just scanned a bunch of old family photos into the computer and I was pretty amazed at how shitty some of those prints really were for image quality.  Partly because of the poor optics of most Instamatic cameras, not to mention some of the crazy film configurations that went into those cameras.  As cumbersome as 35mm was, it was still pretty simple to load and shoot with.

But the DxO software allows me to play with the output image and build in texture and grain, noise essentially.  After all, it’s the signal through the noise that makes the signal interesting in the first place.

Originally done as a hyper realistic HDR shot in all of its Crimson glory, I decided to give it the Iford XP2 treatment. Ilford XP2 was one of my favorite film stocks to shoot on as it had great tooth. I’ve added a darkroom border as well.

 

 

Lauren on her Honda 250. This shot was taken as the sun was doing its final decent so the light is coming near horizontal to the shot. This is a Fuji stock shot 200 ASA equivalent. I’ve added some diffusion around her head to focus on her gaze and to impart a bit more motion to the image.

And what better way to show off an older bike than to give it an older looking print quality. This setting reminds me of the color quality of the bike mags of the 70’s and 80’s

I’m looking forward to playing around with this software a bit to see how far I can push some of my images.

You can check out their complete line up here.

One thought on “Old School – Sort of…

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

