The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

So today I got to shoot some welding for some stock shots that I’ll be incorporating into a project that’s coming up.  Usually this particular shop does mostly TIG work which is somewhat boring to shoot as there is just a small blue light at the end of the torch with no smoke or sparks to speak of.  Today a large deck was being finished up so there was some stainless MIG work being done on various spots around the frame.  MIG has plenty of sparks and smoke which makes for a rather dramatic shot.  The trick is of course to not expose your sensor to the full blast of light as welding arc can do damage.  I gave the above shot a light HDR treatment in post to bring out some of the textural elements.  I did all of this from a single frame which I broke into three modified frames to get my full range.  ISO 400 at F2.8, I cropped the original 17mm Image, which I’ll show below.

I wasn’t too happy with the results of the 10-20mm zoom as it’s limited to F4.0 and even at ISO 400 I’m shooting 1/20. Which to my eye just gives too much chance for motion blur. With the different light levels, I was worried I’d get a lot of crazy colored pixels at the higher ISO.

A wider shot to get the full scale of the deck.

I must admit, I do like shooting more industrial stuff.  Here’s hoping I get to do more of it as the year goes on.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

