The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Or, “More mucking about with the 10-22mm Wide Angle.”

Having missed the December 2013 Bike Show because of work I decided to hit the 2014 Autoshow with my son Colin.  We have found that giving him a camera of his own does tend to slow him down a little bit when I’m going through these types of venues and as I’m not really a, “Car,” I don’t mind following Colin through the displays to see what sort of things twig with him.  Next week we’ll be doing the February Bike Show in the same building as the Autoshow but I’ll be taking two days to do it.  One for Colin and one for me.

It felt like the show was a little less focused on the classic and special cars section in their Autoexotica  offerings.  There were a lot more hybrid and electric cars on display this year and as the demand rises, it looks like the auto makers are finally getting on board with things.  Now we just have to get infrastructure in place.

The Toronto Convention Center is a bear to shoot in.  The lighting is all over the place and it’s hard to set your white balance and you find yourself flipping between ISO settings to try and get a workable image out of the available light.  Add to that that there’s only so many angles to shoot a car in static display from.  Which sounds bad but I’ve always felt that a motorcycle has more to offer visually in the nitty gritty details (and frankly putting those types of details on display was really my motivation to purchase the wide angle lens).

One Colin took of me looking at the new BMW R1200GS. I’ve got to give BMW credit, their front ends always looks the business.  I’m still trying to teach Colin to stand still while he takes his pictures as he has a tendency to start moving before the shutter has finished closing.

One of Colin shot with his camera a small point and shoot Canon. I actually think it gets a pretty good image out of it’s tiny sensor.

A wider shot of Colin taken with his camera by me.

 

The Roadrunner, one of my favorites if for no other reason than it’s pure madness on four wheels. So because of the lights I had to bump up my ISO to 400. The Sigma 10-22mm is an f4.0 – 5.6. I tried to keep the lens as wide open as possible for each shot. I had set my white balance to Tungsten to compensate for the sodium lights overhead but I had to futz around a fair bit in post to get the color accurate.

One taken with my Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.0 for comparison. ISO 200, 17mm at f2.8 at 1/125 So as you can see, your F Stop greatly influences what shutter speed you can work with. Because I’m shooting fairly wide, there’s not a lot of depth of field issues here.

 

These are the type of shots I bought this lens for.

Here I’m fighting the overhead lights and a flood light in front of the car. Still not super happy with the white balance but it’s the best compromise I could come up with.

 

I love all of the chrome.

The Toyota FV2 an electric concept vehicle covered in TV screens that react to what’s going on around them. Other than that, I’ve got nothing.

And this offering from Ford or as I saw it, double fail.

Full on 360 degrees fail.

 

 

The Hotwheels truck was amusing.

Though the interior was a head scratcher.

The new Corvette looks pretty cool.

And of course something that would eat the Corvette’s breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

