The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Taken with my trusty Sigma 17-70mm at F5.6 but with my shutter setting I was effectively a stop and a half under, to try and balance all the different ambient light sources.

This is sort of an adjunct to my Craigslist piece.  I know I’ve been a bit quiet over the last few weeks and the reason is I’ve been working pretty hard in the day job.  In fact, since the beginning of December I’ve had a total of four days off and things most likely won’t let up until next week sometime.

However, it hasn’t stopped me from scanning Craigslist looking for a 10-22mm Wide Angle Zoom.  There have been a few on Craigslist over the last couple of months but I was either too slow or the buyer was asking too much or it was more than I was prepared to pay even at a reduced price as is usually the case when it comes to Canon branded lens.  They’re great glass but man do you have to pay for it.  But a couple of days ago a a Sigma 10-22mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM popped up and the asking price was only $400 (if you say it fast it doesn’t hurt as much).  I checked the lens out on Henry’s and they were asking $550 for it new.  Factor in the tax and you’re up over $600 for it.  As I’m going to be using it primarily for landscape shots, F4 wasn’t going to be an issue and I had a good laugh when one of the Buyers in his review of the lens gave it a lower rating because of the distortion in the final image.  The reason for selling?  The seller was moving over to a mirrorless platform for ease of use.

As you know I’ve been very happy with my Sigma 17-70mm so I felt their 10-22mm was probably a pretty safe bet.  I arranged to meet the Seller at the Tim Horton’s across the street from his apartment.  One of the few rules of Craigslist, do your transactions in a public place.

Anyway, we met up, the lens is flawless and it came with two Tiffen filters to boot (more savings).  The seller basically told me he’d had the lens on his 60D all of six times and looking at the condition of the lens body, I have no doubt of this.  We traded cash for product and went our merry ways, each having gotten what we wanted.

And seeing as I was right by the Filmores Hotel, one of Toronto’s oldest strip clubs and a building that still worships at the altar of Neon and the fact that it was a balmy -6.5C as opposed to the previous day’s -22C (-37C with wind chill), I cracked out the 7D and took some shots.

Taken with the Sigma 10-22mm at 20mm which converts to an approx, 35mm. Being a wide angle it will suck in a lot of sources for flare but I seem to have avoided that here through dumb luck.

 

Again with the 10-22mm but this is an HDR image though mostly to pick up enough dynamic range to get the sign on top of the building and to make the letters on the sign over the door legible. Very little on the detail push because it really started to pick out the noise elements generated at ISO2000

Back to the 17-70mm and still keeping my shutter at about 1.5 stops under to bring out the black.

And just for fun another of the shot in black and white.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

