The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

It’s no secret I prefer to be behind the lens.  I find it hard to be natural in front of the camera (attested to by my very limited film work).  Which of course means that most of my photography of my person is of me in front of some vista with my bike beside me, or behind me and that’s really because I got tired of getting back from trips and having all these pictures where it looked like my bike was having a really good time but I was nowhere to be seen.

The bike on it's way to Cape Breton through the Loyalist settled area of Prince Edward County.  I was on this trip too, honest.

The bike on it’s way to Cape Breton through the Loyalist settled area of Prince Edward County. I was on this trip too, honest.

The fact that I have an IR trigger for my Canon means I’m usually shooting close (under 25 feet) and I prefer the shots of me looking at stuff as opposed to looking into the lens.

The Dragon's Mouth, Norritch Geyser Basin, Yellowstone National Park Sept, 2004

The Dragon’s Mouth, Norritch Geyser Basin, Yellowstone National Park Sept, 2008

Gettysburg, August 2011

Gettysburg, August 2011

Skyline Drive, May 2012

 

That last shot was a little sticky, I think the humidity was around 95 percent and it was before eight in the morning.

I think in many ways I use my camera to keep some distance between me and the world around.  I do find myself making a conscious effort sometimes to leave the camera by my side and just take in the experience for a moment.  This can be hard for me when I’m just walking around but not so much when I’m on the bike, where I usually forget to grab pictures because I’m enjoying the road or the terrain too much to stop and capture it.  Which is why the number of action shots of me tend to be taken by my daughter (who also has a pretty good eye) or my wife.

Getting ready for the long ride back to Mississauga, August 2011 - By my Sister in Law

Getting ready for the long ride back to Mississauga, August 2011 – By my Sister in Law

3900 Km in three days.  You'd think I'd been dragged behind the bike.

3900 Km in three days. You’d think I’d been dragged behind the bike.

Mr playing some indoor paintball...  I don't bite, honest.

Mr playing some indoor paintball… I don’t bite, honest.

An Austin Powers moment.  Trying for some lower ISO stuff.  My Daughter is running the camera.

An Austin Powers moment. Trying for some lower ISO stuff. My Daughter is running the camera.

Though I will admit, it’s the candid stuff that looks the best for tone and composition.

At the lake on a very warm January morning, with my son Colin.

At the lake on a very warm January morning, with my son Colin.

I know I’ve got to get more comfortable in front of the lens, it’s something I’ll keep working at.  Maybe I’ll make it my Winter’s project.  If anybody has some tips or tricks, drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

