The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

An Arctic Fox. Hard to shoot as they’re always moving but isn’t she cute?

I like Zoos, my wife not so much.  For me they’ve always been a place I could go and see the animals in the flesh that graced the pages of my encyclopedias (yes, I read Encyclopedias as a kid among other things).  Colin also likes the Zoos, though he prefers to take it at a near run.  This of course is not conducive to the best photography as I have little time to set up any shots.  Though of course you do what you can.

Why am I revisiting these pictures?  Well a couple of reasons.  One, some of them are pretty cool and two, I watch the news and a good deal of this weeks news has been pretty disheartening.  In order to avoid a rant, I’m posting about something positive, that I enjoy doing and sharing with people.  A good number of these shots were done with the 7D, though there may be a couple from the T2i that have crept in.  Both cameras are very good, though the 7D has really raised my game and that’s never a bad thing.  All of the Predator shots are of course done with my 75-300mm Zoom.  It’s a non IS lens but it still gives good results and the extra 50mm of zoom over my 70-250mm IS lens allows me a little more latitude in focusing out the bars and cages between me and my subjects.

I’m going to start bringing Windex to the Zoo, if there’s Plexiglass somebody with put the dirty hands on it. But the 7D still does a great job of cutting through all of that here.

It’s like you’re in there with him.

See what I mean about the glass, though the reflection of the little girl’s face is great here.

A Bengal Tiger, one of my favorite cats. Taken from the walkway looking down at full extension.

A Cormorant from the Penguin Exhibit.

Peacocks will stand still while you snap them. Well stillish.

One of my favorite Flamingo shots.

Colin’s favorite, the Otter.

Almost cutting through the moire… almost.

While much of the action happens in the Polar Bear Pool, the back of the exhibit usually yields good results as well as I caught this big fella off by himself.

I love the Arctic Wolves…

Having a bit of a howl.

I’d like to think that’s water on its head but I’m really not sure.

The Amur Tiger, a cousin of the Bengal.

Having some lunch

In the Australian Pavilion there are these Jelly fish. The tank is dark and lit from the sides and these are why I carted my tripod through the park. I changed over to my trusted Sigma, parked the lens up against the glass and got to shooting.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

