The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

The hardest part about screenwriting is not the writing, it’s the living.

Writing as a lifestyle can be a very lonely one.  Maybe not so much in the writer’s room or if you’re part of a partnership but I’ve never gravitated towards that kind of deal (though I can sure see its benefits).  Everybody pays a price for your obsession, your disconnect from the rest of the world, including you.  When you work a full time day job to put a roof over your heads and then write for hours each night to fuel what you hope will be your dream job, other time is whittled down to a sliver.

These last few years of literally not writing, have been pretty good.  It’s allowed me to take a breath and recenter a bit but that’s about to change.  Of course it hinges on one man’s decision but then most things film related hinge on one man’s decision.  If you’re a bit of a control freak like me, you can imagine how that makes you feel.  But then in the grand scheme of things isn’t that most of life.

The thing is, this current state of events is a result of personal contacts.  I know I bang on about this a lot but part of it is to counter the massive industry that surrounds Screenwriting of books, videos and lectures all designed to teach you the, “Secret,” to the blockbuster script.  I’m not the only person who feels that this industry isn’t doing anybody any favors.  Which you can see here (well you used to be able to, the WordPress Spam filter took umbrage, so I’ve removed the link).  Though I disagree on one point.  Books that cover mythic structure and the finer details of story are not a waste of time.  I still keep a copy of Elements of Screenwriting on my desk, just because I forget how stuff should go on the page sometimes.  And I’m a firm believer in classes on the craft of screenwriting be they on development or simply how to put a properly formatted screenplay together.  When you’re starting out those are the tools that will see you down the long path.

In the meantime while I wait for word of my future.  I’ll be sitting back at the desk in the evenings.  I’m not going to be pulling the six hour stretches I used to, probably only two or three hours a night.  I’ll probably only get out two or three pages in that time.  They’ll still add up quick enough.  This time I’ll try to do it with balance, so my wife is not once more a writer’s widow.  I owe her that at least.

Things are happening.  I can’t talk about them yet but when I can, I will.  In fact I won’t be able to shut up about them and this blog will probably swing once more towards the writing side of the spectrum.  Am I little terrified of what’s coming my way?  Yeah, a little but it’ll fade and the job will kick in.

At the very least, it’ll be interesting.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

