The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Went on my usual Sunday morning ride and took another stab at catching those elusive Highland Cattle up by Georgetown.  Of course as I had the camera with me, they were not out in the field.  I’ll be working out there all this next week so I guess we’ll see if I can catch them sometime in the near future.  I’ve got as long as it takes to get those shots.

So seeing as it was going to be a cattle free morning I decided to head west on No. 10 Side road towards Milton.  It’s very difficult to find any spot in Ontario at least down here in the Southern half where the hand of man isn’t prevalent or at the very least you can minimize it in the background.  Of course this is an issue anywhere you go, no matter how remote.  I spent a good deal of time in Yellowstone trying to frame out power lines and such in the far background of my shots.

So traveling along I came to a Hay field that had good quality of light and a good horizon.  I also liked how the circular bales look in their surface texture.  The actually remind me a lot more of the beehive style of hay you see in those period paintings.

I’m using my Canon 40mm STM lens here and I’ve got to say, it’s a tack sharp lens with excellent function. I haven’t played around with it too much but when I do use it, I’m always impressed. I actually like it better than my 50mm 1.8

A little wider shot with the 40mm STM.

I like the texture of this shot. You can practically feel the hay.

Couldn’t resist at least one HDR shot.  Lensbaby Double Glass Optic at F5.6

 

Switched over to the Lensbaby. This was shot with the double glass optic at F5.6. I do like the vibrancy of color the lensbaby kicks in to the image.

A bit further down the road I came across this wheat field.  Good elevation was offered from the road and it was nice and cool shooting from under the trees.

I just liked the way the light was hitting this transformer. Like I said, I usually like to cut this stuff out of my shots.

Lensbaby has a promotion on right now for their Edge 80 Optic so I picked one up this morning.  I’m looking forward to putting it through its paces.  So you can expect to see some images from that experiment in the coming weeks and months.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

