The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

A scratch built model of a Bathyscaphe. If I had to guess I’d say about 1/96 scale. 1/25 at f4 – ISO400

A long time ago before my house was invaded by small grasping hands, I built model aircraft.  WW2 1/48 scale to be precise.  In fact I met my wife in a Hobby shop, the hobby shop her Grandparents owned.  It’s strange to have had a longer relationship with your Wife’s family than you have with her.  At least at the beginning.  But I digress.

One of the really cool things about the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum in Hamilton is how active it is in bringing people into the facility.  HeritageCon is a model builder’s swap meet, flea market and Competition all rolled into one.  It’s not the biggest one I’ve ever been to but it’s substantial in its attendance and I dare you to find a cooler venue.  The museum also holds period themed dance nights and more than a few vintage vehicle and hot rod meets.  Which in my opinion is why this museum feels so very vibrant and alive as opposed to those who feel like they’re just caretakers for the bones of history.

Today my Sigma 17-70mm 2.8, 3.5-4 lens got a work out in its Macro range.  I’d have used my Macro adapter but I lent it to my daughter the other day and hadn’t gotten it back yet.  Speaking of my daughter, I got a screaming deal on Craigslist (the place to get all of your gear IMHO).  A Canon T2i (6K actuations on the shutter)  with the kit lens, a spare battery a brand new case for $400.  It even came with all of the software, not that she needs it being the Queen of Photoshop but it was too good a deal to pass up.  Seriously though, Craigslist, it rocks for reasonable prices on solid gear.

But back to the show.

While I was a decent model maker, I was never as committed as some of these guys must be.

I think this is a Sloop, it could be a Frigate. It does look like an exercise in extreme patience. I watched the owner thread a thread that had come loose back through and around a cleat with a pair of tweezers.  1/20 at f4 – ISO400

 

That thing on the front is the Torpedo that the phrase, “Damn the torpedoes!” comes from. Needles to say, not many survivors of these early subs remained after the Civil War 1/30 @ f3.5 – ISO400

 

The top down detail. 1/30 @ f4 – ISO400

A 1/32 F4 Phantom – Looks like a J to me. Excellent cockpit detail with lots of photo etched parts to give it that real authentic look. 1/30 @ f4 – ISO400

The rivet detail is crazy. Same settings as above.

 

One of my favorites, all of the internals are scratch built. This is the plane that became the nemesis of Gary Edwards – the guy Edwards Air Force base is named after.

Another tiny model but the detail is ridiculous. Makes my hands cramp to look at it.

I love two things about this. One, it’s a model of a very rare aircraft and two, somebody took the time to make a set of injection moulds for a very rare aircraft.

A lovely HO diorama of the Supermarine S6.B Air Racer that paved the way for the Spitfire – And it won the Schnieder Trophy in 1931

A Russian Radio Jamming Truck with excellent use of light in the model.

I’ll upload the rest of the series tomorrow.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

