The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

A few of my favorite things

So I’m dipping my foot into the Lensbaby world a bit deeper.  I figure I’ll try to master or at least become proficient with the Sweet 35 Double Glass Optic before I start branching out and playing with some of the other elements.  I’ve never really been one for soft focus though I do see the benefits of such in portrait work.

So the above still life contains most of my Scotch collection.  I figured the amber fluid would be a good medium for the experiment.  I’m shooting with the f2.8 ring in place, though I find the Lensbaby actually feel like it’s shooting about two stops under, I think this is closer to a true f4, though this might just be a byproduct of the 2/3 sensors of the APSC chipset of the 7D.  I’m shooting on a tripod because I want to shoot at a low ISO of 100 and I want my focus to be a crisp as I can get it and trying to juggle the focus ring at such a shallow depth of field would be a rough go for anybody.  I’m lighting from the top, front right and rear (with the rotolight – diffuser in place).  The Sweet Spot is mostly centered.  The shape of the lens gives you an almost spherical DOF.

Here I’m pushing the Sweet Spot a bit to the right.  The glass is wide open so it’s approx. f2   My focus was actually on the JURA lettering but thanks to the Lens focus weirdness, the Lagavulin is pretty crisp too.

Here I’m pushing the focus hard to the right.  Focus as you can tell becomes extremely difficult.  The Lensbaby lends itself well to Still Life or tripod mounted shots.  I’ll need to explore different live action stuff under better light conditions where I can maintain a fast shutter speed at lower ISO.

I will say though, I’m enjoying the lens and will probably be getting the Edge 80 down the road, cause the flat plane focus of that lens looks very interesting to me.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

