The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

So I recently purchased a Lensbaby Composer with Optics Kit.  I’d played around with one before but frankly played is the key word.  I hadn’t really dedicated myself to learning the lens at that time because it was borrowed.  Now that I own one, I’m much more compelled to seeing what I can get out of the whole thing.  I bought the kit off of Craigslist, which I’ll be honest, is a great source for the more esoteric stuff photography wise.

The first thing I realized is it’s not a Tilt Shift lens in the traditional sense, it’s more of a variable focal point lens based upon how you aim it on it’s ball joint.  The manual focus is a bit tricky too and by tricky, I mean you really have to figure out how the the selected focal aperture disc is going to effect the size of the sweet spot.

Using the Double Glass Optic with a F5.6 disc in place. I’m shooting about two stops under that by adjusting my shutter speed.

So today’s location was the Bradley Museum in Mississauga.  It’s dedicated to representing early life on the shores of Lake Ontario.  The best part about it for me were the above cauldrons.  I was pushing about two stops under for most of my shots because of the sunlight on the snow.  I don’t have a ND filter for the Lensbaby yet and I was worried about blowing things out.  The Lensbaby is a 50mm lens on a full frame and 80mm equivalent on a 2/3rds sensor like the 7D.

This was shot with the Pinhole optic (F177) at a five second exposure. I had to play a bit with things to get the exposure right. Of course we’re on a tripod.

To give some comparison, the next shots were done with my Sigma 17mm to 70mm F2.8, F3.5-4.5 Zoom.  I really do love this lens and it’s my general workaday unit of choice.  I’m still using the shutter speed to step things down a bit.

Right behind this museum is a Suncor Energy Refinery.  The Refinery is surrounded by green space and the green space is full of  Deer.  They’re pretty used to humans and because nobody is hunting them, not that afraid.  Cameras don’t bother them at all.

Stealing some Melon.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

