The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Finally had a weekend off and while I was sick yesterday, today  I felt well enough to take Colin to the Toronto Zoo.  One of the few benefits of Colin’s Autism is I get in for free and he’s half price, so admission with parking is only $20.  Usually this is no end of amusement during Summer as other families fork over huge cash to get in and they overhear what he and I pay.  Heads explode.  Well when you’ve got a Special Needs son, you take your pleasure where you can even if it is a touch schadenfreud.

Colin literally likes to take the Zoo at a run so while I’m getting pictures, he takes off.  This can be a bit disconcerting as you don’t want to lose your kid in the Zoo even if he is six foot three and constantly making noise.  Though if I do lose him, I just head for anyplace that sells food.  Sooner or later, he will turn up but this is precisely the reason, I haven’t been camping in decades.  I’ve been a headline story once and once was enough for a lifetime.  Anyway, we had a good day and I only misplaced him a couple of times.

So back when I was a kid of about 12, we were in the San Diego Zoo and there was a guy taking a picture of an Eagle through the bars of the cage with this huge Telephoto lens.  My Dad asked him what he was doing with such a long lens for such a close shot and the photog explained that you could focus the bars out of the way with the telephoto.  I was miles from owning an SLR at that point but I logged the info in my young head for later use.  It has stood me in good stead for many years.  So when you see some odd diffraction patterns in a shot, you know what you’re looking at.

The only problem I have with primate houses at the Toronto Zoo is that they use a lot of Plexiglass to showcase the apes.  Unlike bars or wire cage material, you can’t focus this stuff out of the shot and it becomes just an optical barrier to getting a good picture but in this next shot I think I made it work for me.

And this next shot I just liked for it’s composition and its juxtaposition.

For once the Tiger was up and about, which was good because they’re rebuilding the Eurasian exhibit for the Panda’s so the Amur Tiger (one of my favorites) is not on display until next May.

Not my best shot of a a young Gorilla but I like the composition.

Is it me or do all Meerkats look like Steve Carrell?

I’m dropping the rest of the shots into Smugmug.  I’ll link them up tomorrow.

Cheers.

 

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

