The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

The writing life is about a lot of hope.  As previously discussed, I’m not a big fan of hope, she’s burned me too many times.  As also previously stated, I was for all intents and purposes out of the film game, preferring to take pictures and ride my motorcycle to places to take more pictures.  I’d also had a go at online gaming and found it pretty… satisfying.

But of course, any addict is just a fix away from falling off the wagon and over the last few months, I’ve dabbled in a couple of my older scripts and tried to see where some newer ideas might go, you know, scratching the itch but not so hard I’d start to bleed.

Then I got a call from a producer friend of mine (I know… oxymoron) and he asked me about a pitch I’d made a couple of years ago and would I be interested in writing that film.  Now there’s giving an addict a taste to get him back on the gear and then there’s giving him a brick of Heroin and saying, “It’s all yours, knock yourself out.”

This was Steve McQueen trying to jump that damn fence into Switzerland good and if you don’t know what I’m talking about, rent, The Great Escape and watch the film.  The scene in question is, “Pure tits.” and if you don’t get caught up in it, then you have no soul.

So if this gets the greenlight and it looks good so far for that, then I’ll get to tick a bunch of things off of the bucket list.  I’d say what they are but that’d be telling and we’re too early for that.  Needless to say I get to combine a bunch of passions for this one.

The time frame to complete the rough draft is a bit brutal but nothing I haven’t done before.  The wife isn’t too keen on being a writer’s widow again but she gets that this is one I have to do and that’s pretty cool.

I’m a third of the way through the treatment and it’ll be handed in by the end of next week, once it’s signed off on we’re full steam ahead.

Maybe this time…

2 thoughts on “Maybe this time…

  1. andy says:

    SIR?
    YES?
    Do we get to win this time?
    This time, its up to you!

    Like

    1. sabot03196 says:

      It’s never up to the writer in film.

      Like

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

