The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

One of the first things I discovered with the Canon 7D was it shoots far more rapidly than my previous T2i.  8 frames per second in RAW for the 7D as opposed to 3 Frames per Second RAW on the T2i.  This led to my second discovery.  The shooting speed of the camera was outstripping the focus speed of my 70-250mm Zoom.  I was fine with my 40mm STM lens, it after all has Canon’s new step motor system and focuses very quickly.

1/8 sec apart.  I’m panning with the bikes as the enter and exit the turn.  of course by the very shape of the bend they’re going a hell of a lot faster on exit and starting to move into blur territory.  One of the things I ended up doing to compensate for some of my focus issues was to kick up the F Stop a little.  So instead of shooting at F2.8 I’d click up to F6.3 to give me a greater DOF.  I’d also increase the ISO from 100 to 200.  I do also like the extra intermediate ISO settings on the 7D.

The above sequence is about every other exposure so 1/4 sec.  This at least gave my lens time to catch up.  The new Sigma 17 to 70mm has a hi speed motor so there’s no focusing issues with it other than operator error.  Of course where shooting rapid fire really comes into its own is when you capture a sequence of events.  Like my buddy Kelly making a very nice pass below.

Now to my eye, the focus is all over the map but the action of the sequence in undeniable and that’s what I find speaks to me.  Now I was shooting pretty long by this point and the light was coming in damn near horizontal to the raceway so there were issues of shadow and contrast but those are pretty much the untouched shots and I think they still look pretty good.

The 7D’s ability to capture very sharp images of high speed objects at low ISO settings makes it an ideal camera for me.  It allows me to impart a greater feeling of speed into the images and allows me to portray my racing friends in a more epic manner.  Of course it has revealed some holes in my Lens selection.  So I’ll be putting away some scratch to get my hands on a decent 75 – 250mm Zoom with a faster focus.

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

