The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

 

So I’ve been trying to get out to shoot some Fall colours for the last few weeks.  Work or weather have really put the boots into this and this morning was the first time I was able to pull the bike out and go for a ride.  I flung the 7D in my small camera case and my tripod in the pannier and off I went.  Of course this is also the morning my motorcycle club meets for one of its bimonthly breakfasts.  Yes I could have gone to the breakfast and then gone off to shoot some pictures but realistically, I’ve pretty much had it with my club, for a couple of reasons.

First off is the fact that the average age of the club hovers somewhere around 65, I’m 47. and while I’m not as spry as I used to be, I ain’t dead yet and I’d rather be riding my bike than sitting eating breakfast and talking about riding my bike.   This has really come up in the monthly newsletters as there’s at least one article by me regarding a trip I’ve taken.  Because I’m pretty verbose, it usually takes a few newsletters to get the whole thing out.  This year was a rough one so my trips were almost all going down to see my friend Michael before he passed away and of course the last article was about attending his funeral and the previous really hard trip down to see him (covered in an earlier post on this blog).

The next issue is the club has stopped really doing anything as a club.  When I first joined there’d be some sort of ride every meeting or at least arrangements were made for a ride but in the last three years, I can’t think of a single ride anybody has put together.  Not that I go on group rides mind you but I think it speaks to things when shit stops happening.  I think the shift came around the time the word, “Liability,” started to be bandied about on a regular basis.  This I think gets to the heart of the real problem.

Lawyers and Insurance companies are fucking up our world.  Well at the very least our leisure time.

I don’t ride a motorcycle because it’s safe.  I ride it because I enjoy it and the places it takes me to.  I know full well it’s an inherently unsafe vehicle.  I know that I could be hurt, disabled or even killed in an accident and I accept that risk as being MY choice.  So when anything I belong to starts to worry about whether or not they’re going to get sued if somebody gets hurt on a ride or club sanctioned event and the response is to just not have those events, well, it’s time for me to give a nod and a wave and head off down my own path.  I’ll keep in touch with whom I want but otherwise, I’m done.

To be honest, I’ve had more fun meeting people from the ADV Forum on the road as I’ve yet to meet anybody else from my club out there.

 

And I did get some very nice pictures today.

2 thoughts on “Hold on Tightly – Let go Lightly

    1. sabot03196 says:

      Thanks. It was a new location I’d scouted but today I finally made it there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

