The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I did the Port Dover Friday the 13th thing this year.  It was a quick in and out for me.  In for 7:30am and out by 11:20am.  You know before things got stupid.  Some guys in the club told me that by about 2:00pm the closest you could get to the town was 3/4 of a Km.  Seeing as I can only handle so much crowd action, I think i made the right choice for me.  While I did see some interesting bikes, the Great War Fly In in Brapmton is a better time for me (this year it’s on September 9th).  Less crowded and way more cool old bikes.

The rest of the Indian.

An Ariel in good nick.

A fairly rare Suzuki GS 850G

One of the nicest BSA’s I’ve seen.

The one bike I’d leave the Strom for.

Saw this Laverda ride by and just had to find it in the crowd.

An automatic Ridley.  US built though the company is now out of business.

A naked Goldwing, sort of a cool look.

One more of the Ariel.

It’s pretty obvious Dover is a Harley fest.  Which is fine, Harley has done a fine job of marketing their product to a demographic that can afford it and an even wider demo that can’t.  I’m not a cruiser guy, never have been and never will be, there’s no appeal there for me and when you blat by me on a set of straight pipes, it’s even less.  I know that a lot of motorcycle riders are up in arms over the steadily encroaching noise bylaws being enforced against them but a big reason for them are these tools.  And the being heard instead of being seen argument doesn’t hold much water with me either.  If your pipes faced forward maybe but they face towards the rear of your bike, so all your really doing is letting the people you’ve passed by know that there goes another loud asshole.  I used to have a KH400 with Cafe pipes and when I left work in Clearbrook my wife knew I was on my way home in Abbotsford that bike was so damn loud.

I was young and I was a dick and as far as I was concerned, I was riding God’s chainsaw , God’s scary chainsaw.  My next bike was a lot quieter.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

