The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

Right now I’m kitting myself up for the Vegas trip camera wise.  Memory is always an issue but with SD cards being pretty cheap these days it’s easier to buy more SD cards than it is to cart around a portable drive and computer with you and seeing as I’ll be travelling relatively light, that’s an issue.  After some recent study, I realized I needed to invest in a couple of ND filters.  This will allow me to shoot more effective video in bright light but with my F Stop at maximum aperture to give me that nice depth of field.

Yesterday I swung by Vistek to see what they have.  I’ve always preferred them over Henry’s just because I find their service that much more personal.  However, the best they could do was a Hoya 52mm kit consisting of an ND X8 filter, a Polarizing filter and a UV Filter.  The price as pretty good and I did need a 52mm  kit for the 50mm F1.8 Lens I’ve got so I picked it up.  This of course still left my two main lenses without.

This morning I went over to Henry’s to see what they had on offer.  I walked up to the back counter and a saleswoman there asked me if I needed help.  I told her I was looking for an Hoya ND X4 not the Pro HD ones.  She glanced over the offerings on the wall.

“We don’t have that, you’ll need to order it in.”

I pointed to the filters on the bottom of the wall display.  “What about those.”

“Nope,” Was all she said and then she just walked away.  No offer to order the filter in for me or anything.  I guess she figured I could work the website just fine by myself.  I did a quick walk up and down the wall just to satisfy myself that there were no ND X4 58mm in stock.  No such luck.  But I am nothing if not determined (at least to get service).  One of the other salesmen was just finishing up with a customer.  I’ve got no problem waiting.  When he was done, he came over.  Older guy, shaved head but trim.

“How can I help you?”

“I’m looking for an ND Filter in 58mm, I was hoping for a 4 but I’m told you’ll have to order it in.”

He points the Pro ND X8 filters on the top row of the wall display.  “Well we do have these but…” and he proceeds to the bottom shelf and pulls off one of the filters.  “These ND filters are adjustable from 2 to 8 times.  They’re a little more money but they offer a better range of use.”

Sold.

We also discussed Vegas and he told me some great places to shoot here as well.  So here we have one salesperson who couldn’t be bothered to do her job and make a sale and another who wanted to solve my problem, who not only got me to buy but got me to spend a little bit more than I was originally intending.  The math is pretty simple, you keep him, you fire her.  Because retail is about sales and as Alec Baldwin says…

“A, B, C.  A, always.  B, be.  C, closing.  Always be closing.”  Cause first place is a new car, second place is steak knives and third place is…

You’re fired.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

