The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

When you write, everybody has an opinion about the best way to get something to this or that person or how to end run this or that process and most of this advice is bullshit.  Especially as far as film goes where it really is about who you know and how your perceived more than everything else.  A bad rap will travel far and fast.  Even if you have a good reputation, they’ll still choke you with kindness and the runaround. Which to be honest eventually gets really fucking old.  And really is the current reason I’m not writing film.  Because as Stephen Gaghan pointed out in an excellent podcast, “Years are passing by and nothing’s happening.”

The publishing world was equally as bad.  Well it still sort of is but much like Jericho, those walls are tumbling down.  Because Jeff Bezos much like Steven Jobs is changing the way books get published and distributed electronically, thanks to the Kindle platform.  There will always be print books but let’s be honest, the ebook really is kicking the shit out of the bricks and mortar bookstores as far as print fiction and non fiction are concerned and at a royalty rate of 35% per copy as opposed to the publishing houses and their 20 – 25% model where would you gravitate?  I just read today that the projections are that 75% of all book sales will be ebooks by 2015.  If you’re a Doubleday Dell – Ouch.

So yeah.  I figured I given it a good go, I’d tried to crack in, no luck.  time to pack it in and try something easier like stealing the Hope diamond or winning an Indy race and then I bought a Kindle Touch and suddenly I could cart around a library and it was lighter than my last paperback.  I could look for a title and download it and not have to drag my eyes across the shelves at Chapters (only to find they don’t have it).  My monthly copy of Fantasy and Science Fiction get delivered to my Kindle on the first of the month, which makes it much easier to find and books are once again priced in a range that doesn’t make me want to punch a wall.

And I thought to myself. “That mate is pretty cool.” and then I thought, “How can I get in on this?  How can I get in on this agentless, publishing house free, peer dominated market?”  So I’ve been reading, I’ve been studying and I’ve been learning.

So it looks like we’re not dead yet.  Not by a long shot.

Though it looks like those gatekeepers of old are lying in chunks in the hall.  They probably felt the same way as those dashing cavalry units did the first time they led a charge against machine guns.

Technology really is a heartless bitch.  Ain’t it wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Building The Love Shack

This is the story of building a cottage , the people and the place. Its a reminder of hope and love.

THE BOOKENDS OF AN INTROVERT

THE MUSINGS OF A NIGHT OWL

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

