The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

I’m sitting in Montreal right now and for a change, I didn’t ride my bike out here (just as well, the weather’s been shit).  The drivers out here make the Toronto and Vancouver drivers look sane.  I had a discussion with Kelly about it a few months back when we were in the thick of planning the Translab thing.  Everybody in the group wanted to go around Montreal.  Which I was fine with, we’d be hitting some very nice country but deep down inside I was a bit disappointed as everybody should feel that sort of fear once in their life.  Though if you want to feel real fear, ride a bike through Seattle during rush hour.

anyway, it looks like I’ll be doing the Translab thing solo now.  I may post something up on ADV or Stromtroopers to see if I can find a willing partner to go with me but then it becomes all about schedules and expectations.  The previous group would have mostly been friends or friends of friends.  Strangers do create a different dynamic.  The big thing though is not to psyche myself out about this particular trip.  The breakdown on what has happened to a number of people on bikes on the Translab ranges from, “Made it with zero problems,” to, “Broken bodies and broken bikes,” mere miles into the trip.

But a big part of what problems crop up is how hard you push yourself and the bike.  There’s a lot of gravel and mud to contend with.  Mud I’ve got no problem with but gravel and me, we’ve got history together and from what I hear, the gravel on the Translab is a lot like the slash gravel they’ve got in New Brunswick and that cut my front tire to ribbons in no time at all.  The bias ply radial I replaced it with in Miramichi made for an interesting riding experience for the rest of the trip (though it did fine in the twisties of the Cape Breton Trail).

Anyways, the riding season is grinding slowly down.  I’ll stay on two wheels until the first ice hits the road (well probably a little bit past that cause the wiring in my brain is faulty) and there’s my last big trip of the year in the first week of November out to Dayton, Idaho.  It’ll only be fours days so I’ll have to make the best of the route I figure out.

Spring’s going to be interesting too…  More’n a few mods’ll be going into the bike’s suspension.

Just have to figure out how to pay for them.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Ed A. Murray

On reading. On writing. On life.

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

