The Rough Draft

If you can't go through it. Go around it.

So I stopped by Speedmetal in Aldergrove my buddy Tom’s company.  Dale was there too, so we all took off and grabbed a lunch.  Somebody had had a serious accident on a motorcycle on the number one just up from his exit going Eastbound.  I gave my Mum a ring to let her know it wasn’t me and we went on and caught up over lunch.  The insides were still acting up a bit, so I was being careful on what I was putting in me.  I actually think that it all started when I had a drink at the party we were at two days before I left and then I must have grabbed a bad burger in Montana, which just put the boots in.  It is the one down side to riding.  It’s not optimum if you’re feeling like crap and it’s the only time, you wish you were in an open faced helmet.

So I was going to take it pretty easy today but I sort of did that yesterday.  I’m committed to staying here till Saturday as I’ve promised to take my nephew Eric out to play paintball.  Of course part of the issue is that you get used to always being on the move.  That routine of rolling out of bed, loading the bike up and heading for the next waypoint and that day’s twists and turns gets to be addictive and there’s a bit of ego involved as well, I like the big days and I like to cover lots of ground.  Does it give me bragging rights?  I suppose but it’s more internal than that for me.  So I don’t know.  Maybe it is but deep down it’s all about the ride, in my own personal spacecraft.

For years, my buddy Kelly has been involved in the WMRC (Westwood Motorcycle Racing Club) but lately, he and a bunch of friends have been going out to a local cart track and racing their 125cc bikes around it just for fun.  He knows I love taking pictures of anything on two wheels going fast so he invited me out.

I signed the waiver and hit the track.  With no Marshals present, you’ve got to really think about the laws of physics and especially Newton’s Second Law of Motion.  Or in other words, pick a spot where the bike will slide away from you if it goes down and not into you.

However, that wasn’t going to happen until 6pm and I had a whole day to kill, more or less.  Not content to just sit on my ass I decided to ride up Highway 7 from Mission to Agassiz and then go up the right hand side of Harrison as I hadn’t been up there in about ten years.  Man was it different, though the road was ever bit as narrow on the right hand side of the lake.  I actually rode up past Hicks and Deer lake but where the road used to be a mixture of dirt and gravel, they seem to have taken a page out of the New Brunswick playbook and have gone to a larger rock for the base of the road.  So you’re trying to navigate across softball sized rocks and big flat chunks that slide out from under your tires.  I had to get up on the pegs and stay there.  After a lousy six kilometers, I admitted defeat and turned around.  I also got the affirmation from my body that I’m no longer twenty five and able to stay on the pegs for hours.  I felt like somebody had whacked me between the shoulder blades with a two by four for the rest of the day.  My ego battered and bruised, I headed back to Abbotsford.

So I had a great time shooting all of this and filled up my camera’s memory card right to the top.  You pretty much know you’re bike crazy when you get off of your bike to go and watch more bikes do their thing.  So thanks to Kelly for a fun night.

Leave a Reply

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

Memoirs of Taste

On Navigating the World, Life, and Finding Meaning in Everything // See, Touch, Feel, Taste.

Stylishwanderer

Travel Tips & Stories, Frugality on Fashion & Beauty and Bold Personal Reviews.

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Mind is Everything!

I'm not crazy. My reality is just different from yours.

Anxiety Alley

Musings of a 25 year old anxiety sufferer

Bank Street Blog

Welcome to Bank Street - a place to meet, chat, and book talk.

dabbottdotme

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Drew Avera, Author

Writer of fast-paced thrillers for the attention deficit

Adam Dreece's Blog

Author of The Yellow Hoods, The Wizard Killer, The Man of Cloud 9 and more

Hiking the GTA

Places to hike and things to see in and around the Greater Toronto Area

Robin T. photo

Travel and photography

carolinepeckham

Bestselling YA Fantasy Author

Walking with a Smacked Pentax

A photographic journey through the North of England, Scotland and Wales

